Prop 62 has a broad coalition of support throughout California.

Yes on 62 Endorsements

California and National Leaders

Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter
Former President and First Lady of the United States

Don Heller
Author of California’s Death Penalty Law in 1978
Former US Attorney for California Eastern District

Jeanne Woodford
Former Death Row Warden at San Quentin State Prison

John Van de Kamp
Former Attorney General of California

Bernie Sanders
Former Democratic Party Presidential Candidate
Senator of Vermont

Martin O’Malley
Former Democratic Party Presidential Candidate
Former Governor of Maryland

Gary Johnson
Libertarian Party Presidential Candidate
Former Governor of New Mexico

Nancy Pelosi
House Minority Leader
US Representative for California’s 12 District

Gavin Newsom
Lieutenant Governor of California

Ron Briggs
Led Campaign for California’s Death Penalty Law in 1978
Former El Dorado County Supervisor

Dolores Huerta
Civil Rights Activist

George Gascon
District Attorney of San Francisco

Gil Garcetti
Former District Attorney of Los Angeles

John J. Donohue III, Phd.
Economics and Law Professor, Stanford Law School

Cruz Reynoso
Former California Supreme Court Justice

Mark White
Former Governor of Texas

John Burton
Chairman of the California Democratic Party
Former President Pro Tem of California State Senate

Elected & Government Officials

U.S Representatives:

  • Jared Huffman, California’s 2nd District
  • Nancy Pelosi, California’s 12th District
  • Barbara Lee, California’s 13th District
  • Anna Eshoo, California’s 18th District
  • Zoe Lofgren, California’s 19th District
  • Ted Lieu, California’s 33rd District
  • Karen Bass, California’s 37th District
  • Maxine Waters, California’s 43rd District
  • Loretta Sanchez, California’s 46th District

Hilda Solis
Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors
Former United States Secretary of Labor
Former U.S. Representative for California’s 32nd District

Ed Lee
Mayor of San Francisco

Sam Liccardo
Mayor of San Jose

Libby Schaaf
Mayor of Oakland

Darrell Steinberg
Mayor-Elect of Sacramento
Former President Pro Tem of California State Senate

Helene Schneider
Mayor of Santa Barbara

Robb Davis
Mayor of Davis

Antonio Villaraigosa
Former Mayor of Los Angeles

Madison Nguyen
Former Vice Mayor of San Jose


California State Legislators:

  • Anthony Rendon, California State Assembly Speaker, 63rd District
  • Bill Monning, California State Senate Majority Leader
  • Mark Leno, California State Senate 11th District
  • Toni Atkins, Assembly Speaker Emeritus, California State Assembly 78th District
  • Cristina Garcia, California State Assembly 58th District, Co-Chair California Legislative Women’s Caucus
  • Loni Hancock, California State Senate 9th District
  • Steve Glazer, California State Senate 7th District
  • Phil Ting, California State Assembly 19th District
  • Rob Bonta, California State Assembly 18th District
  • Kevin McCarty, California State Assembly 7th District